Our Sampradaya


  • Krishna
  • Brahma
  • Narada
  • Vyasa
  • Madhva
  • Padmanabha
  • Narahari
  • Madhava
  • Akshobhya
  • Jaya Tirtha
  • Jnanasindhu
  • Dayanidhi
  • Vidyanidhi
  • Rajendra
  • Jayadharma
  • Purusottama
  • Brahmanya Tirtha
  • Vyasa Tirtha
  • Lakshmipati
  • Madhavendra Puri
  • Ishvara Puri
  • Lord Chaitanya
  • Rupa Goswami
  • Raghunatha Goswami
  • Krishnadasa Kaviraja
  • Narottama Das Thakur
  • Vishvanatha Cakravati
  • Srila Jagannatha Dasa Babaji Maharaja
  • Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura
  • Srila Gaurakishora Dasa Babaji Maharaja
  • Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura
  • A C Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

A Brief Synopsis

The correct process of receiving knowledge in any field is approaching a bona fide institute. Similarly, transcendental knowledge should be received through a bona fide disciplic succession

In Bhagavad-gita (4.2) Lord Krishna says:

evam parampara-praptam
imam rajarsayo viduh
sa kaleneha mahata
yogo nastah parantapa

Translation: “This supreme science was thus received through the chain of disciplic succession, and the saintly kings understood it in that way. But in course of time the succession was broken, and therefore the science as it is appears to be lost”

There are four sampradayas or authorities on the science of bhakti. Sri Krishna Chaitanya is like a desire tree, and in the form of Narayana, He is the original guru of the four sampradayas. Sri is the beloved of Narayana. She is His disciple as well. Her wonderful activities are elaborately described in all the Sastras. Sri is another name of Lakshmi.

Her disciplic succession called the Sri Sampradaya has unlimited branches and sub-branches. After Ramanuja became the Acarya in this sampradaya it took the name Ramanuja-sampradaya. Ramanujacharya earlier known as Laksmanacharya is the author of the Ramanuja-Bhashya. Lord Brahma is the leading disciple of the supreme Lord Narayana.

​His sampradaya is known as Brahma sampradaya with disciples all over the world. In this sampradaya, Sri Madhva significantly contributed by writing a commentary on the Brahma-sutras. After this, the sampradaya became known as the Madhva-sampradaya.

​The supreme Lord Narayana also has Lord Rudra as His disciple. Vishnusvami was a leading disciple in the Rudra Sampradaya. Vishnusvami was very influential and a learned scholar of all the scriptures. After him, this disciplic succession came to be known as the Vishnusvami-sampradaya.

From the supreme Lord Narayana appeared the Hansa-avatara. In this disciplic succession came the four Kumaras headed by Sanaka Kumara. In this line Nimbaditya was a leading disciple. The name Nimbaditya sampradaya was thus established.This is known also as Nimbarka-sampradaya. The influence of Nimbarka sampradaya spread all over the world.

The Sri, Brahma, Rudra, and Kumara sampradayas spread their influence by dividing into other sampradayas. In the Ramanuja-sampradaya, Sri Ramanandacharya was highly respected. He had many disciples and grand-disciples. Similarly Sri Vallabhacharya appeared in the Vishnusvami-sampradaya. He wrote a commentary named Anubhasya, which is highly respected. His disciplic succession is known as the Vallabha-sampradaya.

His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada comes in the brahma-madhva-gaudiya disciplic succession.

​Besides following the holy scriptures and your conscience, you have to associate with saintly persons and follow the instructions of the bona fide spiritual master.The bona fide spiritual master comes from a line of bona fide masters that start with God (Lord Sri Krishna) Himself. As a result, he knows God’s will and can impart it to the sincere seeker.

Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu

Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu is none other than the Supreme Lord Sri Krishna, who appeared in this Kali-yuga to inaugurate the yuga dharma for this age – Sankirtana, the congregational chanting of the Holy Names of the Lord.

The Six Goswamis

Srila Jiva Goswami

Srila Jiva Goswami was the son of Sri Vallabha and nephew of Sri Sanatana, Sri Rupa, all of whom were employed in the service of the Badsha Hussein Shah. Having been rewarded richly by the Badsha.

Learn More

Srila Raghunatha Bhatta Goswami

Sri Raghunatha Bhatta Goswami was born in 1505 in Eastern Bengal . His father, Sri Tapan Mishra, was a great devotee of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. Sri Tapan Mishra met Sri Chaitanya.

Learn More

Srila Raghunatha Das Goswami

Srila Raghunatha Dasa Goswami is an eternally liberated associate of Lord Krishna who appeared to join the Lord when He appeared five hundred years ago as Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu

Learn More

Srila Gopala Bhatta Goswami

In the year 1510, while Chaitanya Mahaprabhu was on tour of South India, the family of Venkata Bhatta had great fortune of hosting the Lord during the 4 months of the rainy season

Learn More

Srila Rupa Goswami

Srila Rupa Goswami appeared in 1489 in Karnataka, South India. He was the younger brother of Srila Sanatana Goswami. Forced by various circumstances, Srila Rupa Goswami

Learn More

Srila Sanatana Goswami

Srila Sanatana Goswami was born in 1488 in West Bengal . He was the elder brother of Sri Rupa Goswami. They were educated in Sakurma, a village near the capital of Gauda (Bengal)

Learn More

Our Past Acharyas

Srila Jagannatha Dasa Babaji Maharaja

Srila Jagannatha Dasa Babaji Maharaja, a prominent spiritual master coming in the line from Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, was the disciple of Srila Vishwanatha Cakravarti Thakura.

Read More

Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura

Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura, then known as Kedarnatha Datta was born in 1838, in Birnagar (Bengal). He was the third son of Ananda-candra Datta and Jagat-mohini Devi

Read More

Srila Gaurakishora Dasa Babaji Maharaja

Srila Gaurakishora Dasa Babaji was born in 1838. He spent almost thirty years as a householder looking after his wife and family. After his wife died, he gave up his business.

Read More

Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakur

Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura Prabhupada was born in 1873 at Jagannatha Puri. His father, Kedar Dutta Bhaktivinoda Thakura, was magistrate of the city.

Read More

The Current Acharya

Srila Prabhupada


His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada

Our respectful obeisances are unto you, O spiritual master, servant of Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura. You are kindly preaching the message of Lord Caitanya and delivering the Western countries, which are filled with impersonalism and voidism.